Tourniquet was formed in Los Angeles in 1990. Thirteen albums later, the members of Tourniquet remain committed to creating intense music. Drummer and main songwriter Ted Kirkpatrick’s passion for classical music and technical metal finds its way into many Tourniquet songs, resulting in their music being described as “Beethoven Meets Frankenstein”. As Tourniquet’s music blends elements of all many different styles, two things stand out… melody and originality. Tourniquet is known as a “musician’s band” and have appeared in Modern Drummer, Drums, Guitar World, and many other musicians magazines.

Their lyrical influences span a wide range-everything from Old Testament narratives to medical allegories to Edgar Allan Poe type horror. Besides sharing their faith, a unique trademark of the band is their ongoing message of animal welfare. Ted says: “How animals – all animals – are treated matters greatly to me. To have a platform to share that through music is a privilege. ”


Tourniquet has performed in the US, Canada, Europe, and South America and fans have been known to drive (or fly) long distances just to see the band play.

Tourniquet has been the recipient of numerous awards and accolades, including HM magazine’s Favorite Band of the Decade, several #1 Metal singles, and six Dove Award nominations. They have appeared in countless magazine, newspaper, and online publications. The success of their “acoustic unplugged” shows has further advanced their strong reputation for musical integrity and versatility.

LYRICALLY – Tourniquet has also tackled some important, unique and often controversial social issues as well. Ark of Suffering, from their very first release, created a lot of attention by addressing the biblical perspective against animal abuse. Ruminating Virulence offers hope to the severely disabled. Twilight addresses the neglect of the elderly. Most importantly, all social issues are balanced with the biblical perspective.

MUSICALLY – the span of influences is no less varied. Tourniquet’s music has been classified in many different ways: from hardcore to hard rock, from technical metal to speed metal, from alternative to groove. As Tourniquet’s music blends elements of all these styles, two things stand out…melody and originality. In fact the melodic incorporation of classical music into many guitar riffs has become a trademark of “the Tourniquet sound”. Finally, as people, their approachability and respect for their fans lends itself to creating a common ground for discussing everything from Bach to Babylon.


  • 2011 – Ancient Christmas – Ted solo project
  • 2010 – In the Shadow of the Masters – Ted solo drumming project (Pathogenic Records)
  • 2010 – Ode to A Roadkill – Ted solo project (Pathogenic Records)
  • 2003 – Where Moth and Rust Destroy (Metal Blade)
  • 2000 – Microscopic View of a Telescopic Realm (Metal Blade)
  • 1998 – Acoustic Archives (Tourniquet Productions)
  • 1997 – Crawl to China (Diadem)
  • 1996 – Collected Works (Frontline)
  • 1995 – Carry the Wounded-EP (Frontline)
  • 1994 – Vanishing Lessons (Frontline)
  • 1993 – Live-EP (Frontline)
  • 1992 – Pathogenic Ocular Dissonance (Frontline/Metal Blade)
  • 1991 – Psycho Surgery (Frontline/Metal Blade)
  • 1990 – Stop the Bleeding (Frontline)


  • 2012 – Tourniquet: Live in California (DVD – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 2006 – Till Sverige Med Kärlek (DVD – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 2004 – Circadian Rhythms – The Drumming World of Ted Kirkpatrick (DVD – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 2003 – Ocular Digital (DVD – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 2000 – Video Biopsy 2000 (VHS – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 1998 – Live in California (VHS – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 1997 – Guitar Instructional Video (VHS – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 1996 – The Unreleased Drum Solos (VHS – Tourniquet Productions)
  • 1995 – Pushin Broom Video with “Bearing Gruesome Cargo” (VHS – Frontline)
  • 1992 – Video Biopsy with “Ark of Suffering” (VHS – Frontline)